## 4. MAYORAL MINUTE

### 4.1 State Election Results

### **Attachments**

Nil

The recent State election saw some changes in the local representation for Campbelltown City, and I would like to use this Mayoral Minute as an opportunity to thank two of our former Members of Parliament – Dr Andrew McDonald and Bryan Doyle.

Andrew was first elected as the Member for Macquarie Fields in 2007. During the next eight years, he held a number of other positions including Shadow Minister for Medical Research, Shadow Minister for Health, Parliamentary Secretary Assisting the Minister for Health and Shadow Minister for Liquor Regulation. He also continued to work one day a week as a paediatrician.

Bryan Doyle was elected as the Member for Campbelltown in 2011, and went on to hold the positions of Deputy Chair, then Chair, of the Legal Affairs Committee, as well as Deputy Chair, Select Committee on the Motor Vehicle Industry.

Both Andrew and Bryan are fine examples of Campbelltown citizens. They took their positions in Parliament very seriously, and always had the highest regard for the residents they represented.

Their hard work and commitment to the local area was second to none, and their efforts have certainly helped steer the city towards its regional city centre status. I wish them all the best in their future endeavours.

I also take this opportunity to congratulate Councillor Anoulack Chanthivong on his recent success in the State election. I know Councillor Chanthivong shares my great love of our city, and I look forward to working closely with him in his new capacity as Member for Macquarie Fields, as well as Greg Warren as the new Member for Campbelltown.

## Recommendation

That the information be noted.

# Council Meeting 21 April 2015 (Kolkman/Borg)

That Planning and Environment Item 5.2 - Local Members of State Parliament - be brought forward and dealt with in conjunction with this item.

# Council Meeting 21 April 2015 (Lake/Borg)

- 1. That the information be noted.
- 2. That Council write to the newly elected State Members, Councillor Anoulack Chanthivong, Member for Macquarie Fields and Mr Greg Warren, Member for Campbelltown, congratulating them on their appointments and advising them that Council is looking forward to working with them during their term of Parliament.
- 3. That Council write to State Members, Mr Jai Rowell Member for Wollondilly, and Mr Chris Patterson, Member for Camden congratulating them on their reelection.
- 4. That Council write to the previous State Members, Mr Andrew MacDonald and Mr Bryan Doyle thanking them for their support during their respective terms in Parliament.

#### **Council Resolution Minute Number 47**

- 1. That the information be noted.
- That Council write to the newly elected State Members, Councillor Anoulack Chanthivong, Member for Macquarie Fields and Mr Greg Warren, Member for Campbelltown, congratulating them on their appointments and advising them that Council is looking forward to working with them during their term of Parliament.
- 3. That Council write to State Members, Mr Jai Rowell Member for Wollondilly, and Mr Chris Patterson, Member for Camden congratulating them on their reelection.
- 4. That Council write to the previous State Members, Mr Andrew MacDonald and Mr Bryan Doyle thanking them for their support during their respective terms in Parliament.