You may want to upgrade your browser. We have detected you are using Internet Explorer 10 or earlier. It is recommended that you update your browser to the latest version to get a better user experience. Find out more

Your JavaScript is disabled, we suggest you enable it to improve your Council website user experience.
Site wide emergency announcement. Site wide alert announcement. Site wide alert resolved. From Monday 23 March a number of facilities have been temporarily closed.
Site wide emergency announcement. Site wide alert announcement. Site wide alert resolved. Find out about our operating hours on the Queen's Birthday public holiday.
Skip to main content Menu
Main Content Anchor

Campbelltown Community and Economic Profile

Map of Campbelltown LGA

More than 168,139 people across 33 suburbs now call Campbelltown home, making us one of the 10 largest local government authorities in NSW.

Campbelltown Local Government Area (LGA) is located in Sydney's south-western suburbs, between 30 and 55 kilometres from the Sydney CBD. Campbelltown occupies 31,222 hectares of land area with a population density of 5.04 persons per hectare.

The suburbs which are within Campbelltown are: Airds, Ambarvale, Blair Athol, Blairmont, Bradbury, Campbelltown, Claymore, Eagle Vale, Eschol Park, Glen Alpine, Glenfield, Ingleburn, Kearns, Leumeah, Macquarie Fields, Macquarie Links, Minto, Raby, Rosemeadow, Ruse, St Andrews, St Helens Park and Woodbine.

Campbelltown is located at the hub of one of the most significant current and future growth areas in south west Sydney. Serviced by seven electrified railway stations, positioning along the main Sydney to Melbourne rail line and direct road connections to major freeways and motorways, Campbelltown is a highly accessible location by both road and rail.

With significant existing infrastructure to service a growing population, including a major hospital, two major tertiary education facilities, regional sporting facilities and major transport links, Campbelltown is well-positioned to support the growing Macarthur region and attract a wide range of industry and development.

Campbelltown features a rapidly growing and diverse workforce, with a balance of skilled and semi-skilled workers across a diverse range of areas. With a Gross Regional Product estimated at $7.9 billion in 2017, Campbelltown has employment opportunities across a wide range of sectors.

Back to top Back to top