History of Glenalvon

Glenalvon House - a fine Colonial Georgian townhouse with its heritage gardens
Glenalvon House - a fine Colonial Georgian townhouse with its heritage gardens, coach house and stables. Image sourced from Kerry & Jones Collection, Campbelltown City Library.

Glenalvon House c.1840

Location: 8 Lithgow Street, Campbelltown NSW 2560

State Heritage Listed: Glenalvon House(PDF, 405KB)

Glenalvon is one of the finest examples of a house using Colonial Georgian design in New South Wales. It was built by Michael Byrne on land that was allocated to him in 1827, however the grant was not issued until 1839 when building commenced.

Until then Michael and his family lived in a single storey cottage, which still remains behind the house, together with a Victorian Gothic coach house and stables. They now contain a museum.

Subsequent owners were John Keighran, who owned a local flour mill, Edwin Fieldhouse and Sam Bursill.

Glenalvon was acquired by the then State Planning Authority in 1963 to ensure its preservation and renovation with sensitivity in 1969. This renovation was successfully achieved, and the building now sits amidst a heritage garden.

The main building is of symmetrical golden stonework. Features include a paved verandah with Doric columns at the front and flat timber posts at the rear. Cedar joinery and a geometric staircase are originals of the interior.

Glenalvon today, is owned by Campbelltown City Council and is under the Custodianship of the Campbelltown and Airds Historical Society who regularly hold open days to the public and take Glenalvon House bookings for venue hire and tours.

Exploring Glenalvon

Take a virtual walk through historic Glenalvon House and step back in time in this video series on YouTube Exploring Glenalvon by the Campbelltown and Airds Historical Society.

Image gallery of Glenalvon